More and More Whole

After the Artists Network Meeting this afternoon I took the camera into the Auburn Botanic Gardens to have a wander. I have an artwork to complete for exhibition later in the year and I’m still in the process of developing it, so I’m keeping the concept sitting lightly in my mind where it can still be shaped. The Auburn Botanic gardens have been a key influence, more to the prose that will be part of the work than the photography element, but you never know what you’re going to find – so off I went adventuring in search of nothing and hoping for something.

I love to photograph water and being overcast today there was lots of shape and hue and texture and light to capture. When I was going through the photos I was primarily drawn to the abstract ones.

An abstraction, a different way of seeing the surface. An invitation to wonder about the idea of the parts, the whole, the meaning, the place.

And when I looked at my hand, stroking the cats chin, holding her spellbound, I thought about abstraction and my physical self. And how I don’t need to look like anything in particular, I should, I can be abstraction and all the more me, and all the more inexplicable – and yet not. I suspect we’re all an abstraction until we get to know a person anyway. In the meantime, how delicious is it to wonder and investigate and be shown and reveal and hint at and share and deepen and connect piece by piece, layer by layer, knowing there’s more, even if you feel you know them beyond the profound already?

Joseph Wirthlin said “The more often we see the things around us – even the beautiful and wonderful things – the more they become invisible to us. That is why we often take for granted the beauty of this world: the flowers, the trees, the birds, the clouds – even those we love. Because we see things so often, we see them less and less.”

For me in the creative process I am looking to find the way to see things in a way I haven’t before, that may make them more mysterious and yet make them also more whole.

(click on the photos for a closer look)

 

Leave a Reply

