Glimpse

Photography: Trish Jean

A Glimpse

(Walt Whitman)

A glimpse through an interstice caught,
Of a crowd of workmen and drivers in a bar-room around the stove late of a winter night, and I unremark’d seated in a corner,
Of a youth who loves me and whom I love, silently approaching and seating himself near, that he may hold me by the hand,
A long while amid the noises of coming and going, of drinking and oath and smutty jest,
There we two, content, happy in being together, speaking little, perhaps not a word.

I do like Walt. This poem is not exactly relevant, however I was capturing glimpses through the camera amidst the moments of the day, content to be wordless and mindful.

I’m moving house on February 1st, which means the real estate agents are looking for new tenants for my cottage by (okay near) the sea. I wasn’t well enough today to take the dogs for a walk while the house was being shown, so I took them for a drive and ended up at Lake Illawarra. I found some water fowl and had fun trying to catch glimpses of them through the reeds. They hide their young well, you can spy one through the reeds in one of the photos.  And then a quick stop at the pier where a fellow was testing the water temperature off the side. I hung over the side of a bridge and found some pelicans.

Totally forgot to try the camera settings for bird life that I’d read about in a blog, but that’s okay, in the absence of much technical ability it’s always an adventure!

 

Leave a Reply

