Appreciating What You Can Manage

Photography: Trish Jean

I could only manage a meander yesterday, then indulged in an audience with the lighthouse. I lay on my back and watched the birds and the sky as their stories played across the screen and appreciated the green grass as my cinema seat. I contemplated the place we give to beacons from the practical to the romantic depending on the genre of our story and the subtle or overt role to be played.

I appreciated that what I could manage was a viewing of the world through the lens of the camera, the small challenges like over riding auto to catch the plumage of the bird on the blurred sea background, and finding rock pools I hadn’t seen before. I enjoyed capturing the evening unfolding for the locals, the fishermen, the surf lifesavers, the walkers.

 

Leave a Reply

