Historical Overhead Braced Timber Truss Bridges NSW

Photography: Trish Jean

While I was up in the Hunter Valley and Newcastle last week I took the opportunity to find and photograph a trio of bridges. Morpeth, Hinton and Dunmore Bridges are the only three surviving overhead braced timber truss road bridges in NSW.

They are all single lane and there’s no pedestrian access on the bridges. There are some great photos of these bridges with reflections, but I wasn’t there at the right time of day for that and neither was there much in the way of interesting, cloudy sky to catch. I snuck over fences, drove down private roads and climbed up the evacuation stairs to try and get some good shots, and had fun and that’s the main thing for me.

At the end of the day, I love the bridges for the metaphors we associate with them, for their history and because they are a means for me taking the time out to go and look at places I wouldn’t otherwise. They also take me places in my mind.

The bridges and their surrounds get me imagining stories of the people and places associated with them (think of the Bridges of Madison County, the Three Billy Goats Gruff, the 10 City Bridge Run that’s started many conversations about child survival, or check out these touching stories that were shared on This American Life’s episode The Bridge).

Leave a Reply

