Tubbagah People of the Wiradjuri Nation: Celebrated on the Bridge

Photography: Trish Jean

Well, it would appear my lack of mobile reception and internet connection while I was out in the far West last week means I’ve missed a truly interesting bridge. I did do a bit of a drive around but didn’t spot it. There is also a rail bridge at Dubbo I missed. I do kind of like that there’s plenty more bridges out there to be found and photographed should I feel the desire.

I did find the LH Ford Bridge over the Macquarie River at Dubbo. We didn’t get into Dubbo from Brewarrina until about 7.30 pm on Wednesday night and flew out early the next day for Sydney. So I went for a bit of an explore and found the bridge on Wednesday night, then got up early to photograph it the next morning. It turns out that what I know about myself, mornings and lack of coffee means I’m not at my sharpest, applies to early morning attempts at photography too…not quite functional! But, the bridge has some wonderful Indigenous artwork on the pylons well worth sharing.

The Tubbagah People of the Wiradjuri Nation are Dubbo’s traditional owners. The murals on the bridge pylons showcase and celebrate their culture.

Leave a Reply

