The Moon Over Metropolis

Photography: Trish Jean

Back in the big smoke for a couple of days. I had an amazing view of a stunning sunset out one side of the small airplane I was travelling back from the NSW Northern Rivers on, and the big blood moon on the other side…but by the time I landed, grabbed my camera from my luggage and found a spot at the airport to try and capture the colour, the moon wasn’t red anymore. So I’ve enjoyed taking some photos from the balcony of the apartment I’m staying in at Sydney’s Darling Harbour.

And when the word metropolis crops up, I cannot help but start singing the Church’s song…

Metropolis

(The Church)

There’ll never be another quite like you
I’m so involved with everything you do
Don’t say nothing good will ever come of this
Don’t say the damage is worse than

Back in Metropolis, circuses and elephants
Where the oranges grew
And back in Metropolis, nothing can ever topple us
When I’m standing with you

You stare down at some crowd from your trapeze
And when you fell they fell down on their knees
And when you broke they scrambled for a piece
And when you spoke I felt their anger freeze

Back in Metropolis, circuses and elephants
Where the oranges grew
And back in Metropolis, nothing can ever topple us
When I’m standing with you

And back in Metropolis, talk about a holocaust
And then visit the zoo
And back in Metropolis, the weather is ridiculous
What’s it all leading to?

And it’s only a day away
We could leave tonight
You could sleep along the way
Dream in black and white

Leave a Reply

