The Day Deepens

Photography: Trish Jean

We live between the act of awakening and the act of surrender. Each morning we awaken to the light and the invitation to a new day in the world of time; each night we surrender to the dark to be taken to play in the world of dreams where time is no more. At birth we were awakened and emerged to become visible in the world. At death we will surrender again to the dark to become invisible. Awakening and surrender: they frame each day and each life; between them the journey where anything can happen, the beauty and the frailty. – John O’Donohue

Today my work companion and I travelled from Newcastle to Singleton and then on to Tamworth. Stephen wasn’t well so I did the driving, but that suited me, I love a road trip! We stopped at Muswellbrook in the Hunter Valley of NSW. I spied a bridge across the road so grabbed the camera and ducked off. I snuck through a spot in the fence and had a wander around. The bridge wasn’t particularly interesting but I found a windmill and a pond…and it turned out I’d found my way onto a golf course, so I didn’t stay long.

Once we checked into our hotel in Tamworth I raced out in search of a bridge and found the railway bridge as the sun was setting. I made for some nice photos and also it was good time to just appreciate the beauty of the ending of the day and to remember that whilst sometimes endings come to soon, there will be new days for us. There’s tough times ahead, but we need to surrender to them and embrace the beauty and frailty of life as we move forward.

The day is a bridge between the sun’s arrival and departure, between awakening and surrender. And it was so nice to have magpies for company who sang to the setting sun.

One thought on “The Day Deepens

Leave a Reply

