From a Railway Carriage

Photography: Trish Jean

Trains are wonderful…. To travel by train is to see nature and human beings, towns and churches and rivers, in fact, to see life. – Agatha Christie

Oscar Wilde said that he always carried his diary with him so he had something sensational to read on the train. I have a couple of favourite books in my suitcase, and a backpack full of work documents…but none of these things really grabbed me on the train this evening, so I pulled out the camera to play.

The reflection of one of my adored Penguin Books luggage tags caught my eye so I snapped it. Then I remembered I’d soon be going over the Sydney Harbour Bridge and that I’d been able to catch interesting reflections once before. This time I got some nice reflections that overlay a taxi, bus, cars and bridge lights into the carriage, and even the Sydney Opera House can be seen in the reflection of my head/camera lens as I’m taking photos through the carriage door. Fellow passengers can make for good subjects too…in this case there was a nice juxtaposition between fellow passenger and closed door.

So just a few shots…but as philosopher Martin Buber says…”All journey’s have secret destinations of which the traveller is unaware” and that can really be the case when you travel with the camera!

From a Railway Carriage
Faster than fairies, faster than witches,
Bridges and houses, hedges and ditches;
And charging along like troops in a battle,
All through the meadows the horses and cattle:
All of the sights of the hill and the plain
Fly as thick as driving rain;
And ever again, in the wink of an eye,
Painted stations whistle by.

Robert Louis Stevenson
Leave a Reply

