Time for Wandering

Photography: Trish Jean

I spent a couple of days in Sydney last week and made the most of the time to lie under a tree in Hyde Park with the crosswords, walk about the Botanical Gardens and waterfront, catch trains and ride the ferry boats. Unfortunately I didn’t have my DSLR with me, I’d left it in the car at the Carriageworks where my sister was working at Sydney Contemporary (the art fair). I hadn’t wanted to take it out to the pub with me! So these shots are not the best quality, they’re just from the iphone. But I’m finding the more I take photos the more I look about and frame possible photos. It makes me more mindful and it’s a bit of fun and there’s still plenty to learn even when I’m using the iphone, about light and exposure…exactly what I got by getting out and about.

A couple of shots with different lighting emphases that effects the reflection – Wilson Street, Eveleigh

thumb_IMG_6676_1024 thumb_IMG_6679_1024

Outside the train station, a mural of an Aboriginal WW1 Digger finished in Redfern for Anzac day 2014

thumb_IMG_6681_1024

Tile art…the Landsdowne Hotel, Chippendalethumb_IMG_6682_1024

Brett Whiteley’s “Almost Once” outside the NSW Art Gallerythumb_IMG_6686_1024

The Botanical Gardens, full of bloomsthumb_IMG_6689_1024 thumb_IMG_6692_1024

On the ferry to Manly and back, loving the sea breezethumb_IMG_6729_1024 thumb_IMG_6740_1024 thumb_IMG_6746_1024 thumb_IMG_6793_1024 thumb_IMG_6873_1024 thumb_IMG_6877_1024 thumb_IMG_6880_1024The Wanderer

(Lang Leav)

What is she like?
I was told—
she is a
melancholy soul.

She is like
the sun to the night;
a momentary gold.

A star when dimmed
by dawning light;
the flicker of
a candle blown.

A lonely kite
lost in flight—
someone once
had flown.

Leave a Reply

