Enlightenment

Photography: Trish Jean

I learned a lesson tonight…persistence and play. I went from thinking the best shot I could get of the moon was a round shiny disc, an improvement on my previous efforts because I had a tripod, so no distortion of the shiny disc. And then I persisted in playing and lo and behold I got more than shine! There’s more improvement to be made but it’s a big breakthrough for me and I’m doing a happy dance.

When I got up the escarpment to Sublime Point I was too late to photograph the moon over the ocean, but the moonlight made for some nice shots, and in one of them you can see the light trails from planes coming in and out of Sydney. There’s also my best effort so far at the stars, the Southern Cross, and a photo looking back down the coastline to Wollongong.

thumb_DSC_4900_1024 thumb_DSC_4907_1024 thumb_DSC_4909_1024 thumb_DSC_4911_1024 thumb_DSC_4920_1024 thumb_DSC_4931_1024 thumb_DSC_4937_1024

My friend Darren who is visiting at The Writers Wrest has a lens I can borrow that may allow me to do even better. I like that there are challenges ahead.

Yay for mindfulness and taking time to play!

Always keep your mind as bright and clear as the vast sky, the great ocean, and the highest peak, empty of all thoughts. Always keep your body filled with light and heat. Fill yourself with the power of wisdom and enlightenment. – Morihei Ueshiba
Leave a Reply

