Moth: Provide a Light

Back in January I wrote a post, Evoke: Love is a Lighthouse, as part of my initial foray into blogging, as part of the Your Turn Challenge put out by Seth Godin. In it I noted that:

We like to preserve something of ourselves, leave our own legacy, perhaps send a message to our future self. We’re making the future and shining forth. Lighting a beacon, paving the way for ourselves and others.

I find myself often walking to the lighthouses nearby. I’m a moth to the flame of a beacon, to the idea that we provide a light for those we care about, that we’re present and can shine a needed light. I also like the idea that in life we’re drawn to the people and experiences that shine a light for us, that we can shine through for, and in order that we encounter the lessons that move us forward. For me the beacon is both home and ticket to ride.

beacon [bē′kən]
A fire or light set up in a high or prominent position as a warning, signal, or celebration. A beacon is a person or thing that warns, guides or offers support.
1. A lighthouse is an example of a beacon.
2. The lights of a runway are an example of a beacon for a landing plane.
3. A friend who offers direction and guidance is an example of a beacon for someone in need.

I was walking to the lighthouse this evening to take photos of it, however I discovered with the tide out I could wander around on the rocks and ended up engrossed. I did get some good lighthouse photos in the meantime. A new perspective from a different standpoint that saw the two line up. Very neat!thumb_Lighthouses_1024 thumb_thumb_DSC_2984_1024_1024  I really like the poem from that earlier blog post, so I’m sharing it again.

Lighthouse

(Scix Knight)


What was composed in the dark, has come to light,
My strong white citadel that stands through time,
It brings this ship home from the dreary winds.
My heart leaps at the sight of the light;
Pulling me from the realms of the storm,
Kiss the fears alone and beset to flight.
What was composed in the dark, has come to light,
This lighthouse that stands through time,
It awaits for my heart, forever the guardian of my soul.
No matter the sails that were set to sea, I’ll always have a light watching over me.
Though love can be cumbersome, it’ll always be reset with stone.
What was composed in the dark, has come to light,
My strong white citadel that stands through time,
It brings this ship home from the dreary winds.
This lighthouse that shines bright, brings this lost child to the safety of its light.

Leave a Reply

