Relative Bearing

Photography: Trish Jean

I took this photo a while ago, looking out from near the lighthouse in the Wollongong harbour. I just love it and have been saving it for a blog post that could tap into it. Here it is.

Relative Bearing

(Trish Jean)

The warmth in my veins contrasts
But not for long
The seawater is seeping in
Through my open eyes
The temptation is to give in completely
And close them
Close off
They remain my
Treading water
As I lie beneath the surface
Seeing the grey
Tasting the blue
Wanting the wind-blown waves
To bite into my skin and sting
And tell me I am here

Wholly I have sunk low enough that
I watch from beneath
A quiet interloper swayed by other currents
Once buoyed
Now bereft yet acting as if losing my absolute bearing
Is merely of no matter and
Caring not for a compass
Remains my
Treading water
As I lie beneath the surface
Asking the water
Repelling the sky
Wanting nothing to touch me
To pierce the knife edge pain
And tell me I am here

Leave a Reply

