Unshore

Inspired by the photographic works of Pamela Jennings & Debbie Fowler, and Eliza Strydom


Unshore

(Trish Jean)
Being on the edge

At the end where

Commencement is a herald

Rung out by change

And a crankiness of bones.

Ocean works the shore

Inscribes an epithet

The sky bears witness

And a compass it provides.

I set my course home

Watch a last fading light

I’ve seen more in my mind

These latter days but

I lay it down to stay

My body alongside remains.

There’s something beyond to enter

Only love and wisdom can

My companions be

I’m trading shores here

For uncertainty.

Leave a Reply

